Meta announced that Facebook will end its face recognition feature. You know when you upload a picture and the app saves you time because it knows how to tag everyone? Facebook is going to turn that stuff off, but… it’s not deleting any data and it’s not going to stop using its tools internally. As always, the devil is in the details (which you should read here).

Author’s note: This is not a sponsored post. I am the author of this article and it expresses my own opinions. I am not, nor is my company, receiving compensation for it.

About Shelly Palmer

Shelly Palmer is the Professor of Advanced Media in Residence at Syracuse University’s S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications and CEO of The Palmer Group, a consulting practice that helps Fortune 500 companies with AI strategy, implementation and governance, as well as technology, media and marketing. Named one of LinkedIn’s Top Voices in Technology, he is a bestselling author, covers tech and business for Fox 5’s Good Day New York, is a regular commentator on CNN, and writes the popular daily business blog Think About This. Follow @shellypalmer or visit shellypalmer.com.

Tags

Categories

PreviousWhy Can't We Vote Online? NextGet Ready to Authenticate Yourself