Turns out not everything on Twitter is forever. Twitter made a change to its “block” feature on Thursday, but then backtracked later in the day after an uproar among users. The block feature has worked like this: When you block a user, it blocks them from following you or sending you messages. If you’ve been blocked, you know it because you cannot follow that person. However, a change made on Thursday allowed a user you have blocked to follow you or reply to your messages. It really just allowed the person who blocked you to stop seeing the messages in their timeline. After the change was made, it didn’t take long for users to start expressing their dislike for the feature. “So Twitter’s block tweaks mean that blocking is pretty much muting now? How rubbish,” @LauraSparling tweeted. Her tweet was re-tweeted over 100 times. The hashtag #RestoreTheBlock also began to catch on.